Age Matters Little As WCBL Hands Out Weekly Honors

John Connolly
John Connolly
Danny Millard
Danny Millard

Fifty-year old Lake Ariel catcher John Connolly (Lakeville) and 40-year-old Starrucca lefty Danny Millard (Beach Lake) showed the young kids a thing or two last week. As a result, they’ve been named Batter and Pitcher of the Week by the Wayne County Baseball League.

Connolly was darn near unstoppable, going 8-for-13 (.615) with four doubles, a homer, two RBIs and a run scored. He had at least two hits in each game, including three-hit games in a 4-3 win over Damascus on Thursday and a 13-1 loss to Prompton on Saturday.

“I guess these creaky old knees still have something left,” joked Connolly. “I just wish a few more of those doubles would clear the fence so I don’t have to run so hard.”

For the season, Connolly is hitting .348 with a 1.000 OPS.

Millard was masterful in his two starts, posting a pair of complete-game victories as the Hawks remained the league’s only unbeaten team at 6-0. The veteran hurler opened the week by allowing an unearned run on three hits and a walk while striking out 12 in a 2-1 win over Prompton. On Saturday, he was even better, tossing a two-hit shutout with nine Ks in a 1-0 win over Waymart.

“I’ve been around this game long enough to know that success can be fleeting,” Millard said. “I appreciate this honor, but I’m just trying to get myself ready for my next start.”

In three starts this season, Millard is 3-0 with three complete games, a 1.00 ERA, a 0.56 WHIP and 29 strikeouts in 27 innings.

Leave a comment